Avengers Endgame: Review

I feel like I’ve sat on this for long enough. I’ve collected my thoughts, mulled over the events that transpired in my mind and I’m suitably prepared to talk about it. Don’t worry, if you’re part of the 7% of the human population that hasn’t yet seen the movie, there’s no spoilers. It’s time to talk about the Avengers!

Like most, I saw the film last week and I’ve spent quite a while considering the phrase I’d use to describe it. ‘Imperfect perfection’ fits best when talking about Endgame. That is to say that, yes it’s easy to sit and pick faults with the holes in the plot and the wibbly-wobbly way that they explain away their rules on time travel but at the end of the day Avengers Endgame is a perfect movie. For someone who has followed the MCU since its inception, Endgame ticks all of the boxes that I wanted it to. Characters saw their stories come full circle, previously unexplained phenomenon were given justifiable closure and the way was paved for the future while succinctly closing the book on one of the most lucrative and successful chapters of pop culture history.

The 182-minute runtime feels wholly validated and the way the movie is set out and paced, you barely even notice as 3 hours roll on by. Once past the initial intro, you could be forgiven for thinking that Endgame drags its heels a little as it builds up towards the main bread and butter of the story but in actual fact, it makes perfect sense when you’re juggling as many characters as the Russo brothers had to manage. Each member of the remaining Avengers gets their moment in the spotlight to showcase just how the events of Infinity War has left its mark on them and that helps solidify further their motivations and choices as the movie progresses. That’s one of the things I liked the most, was that each event which transpired made sense in terms of the character and the journey they had been on throughout their time in the MCU.

The one thing I thought Endgame did well was that it finally paid dividends to the patience of its audience. Throughout the numerous MCU movies, there have always been hints and allusions to things which have set the fanbase alight with rumour and intrigue, only to find that their wildest imaginings were far from what transpired. Endgame finally bears fruit to some of those theories and while some argue its nothing but fan-service I see it for what it really is, pure unaltered entertainment. Without spoiling anything, things happen which people have clamoured over for years and to finally see it on the big screen feels like a massive emotional payoff.

I’m not going to lie to you, Endgame will undoubtedly tug at the heartstrings for a number of different reasons. Whether you’ve followed the heroes from the beginning and are emotionally invested in them or not, you’ll be hard-pressed to keep a dry eye come the credits. The Avengers are pushed to deal with some of the harshest of realities and I think it translates well to the audience. I found myself continually wondering what I would do, were I in their position and I found in doing so that I appreciated the emotional struggle of the characters even more.

One of the biggest criticisms of the movie I’ve seen is its lack of a post-credits scene. No there’s no departing scene to give the audience a hint at what’s to come next for the MCU but as has already been explained by the directors that is by design. They weren’t planning for the future of the MCU at this point because as far as they are concerned, there is no future. Yes we know there are future Marvel productions in the works, but they fall outside of the jurisdiction of this ‘Infinity Saga’ and while the head of the MCU has stated that Spider-man: Far From Home is the final film of phase 3, really it is Endgame which is the true and proper end. What there is instead at the close of the movie, is an amazing recognition of the actors who have gotten the MCU to the stage its currently at, closing with a poignant and heartfelt appreciation of the original 6 Avengers. I actually value this more than a post-credit scene as I feel that Endgame is a true and proper celebration of the Avengers and how far they’ve come over the years. It acknowledges those who have laid the building blocks and those who have followed in the steps of their footsteps to give us one of the greatest franchises the world has ever known. It feels right to recognise and appreciate everything that we have been given so far at the close of this chapter.

Like I said, Endgame is not without fault and if you really wanted to you could sit for hours and nit-pick your way through the whole film. But in truth, I think it’s a once-in-a-lifetime experience which I believe will be difficult to surpass for a long time. Endgame has everything in it you could ever want or imagine, from suspenseful action to profound emotional sequences which leave a lasting mark on the audience. There’s something for everyone as it balances its trademark style and humour alongside a dark and meaningful storyline which I felt bore real consequence for the characters (especially Thor).

If you’ve not already seen Avengers Endgame then I thoroughly encourage you to do so and if you have, then go again. It’s definitely worth a second viewing (if not more) to appreciate everything which the Russo brothers have crammed into this movie for our viewing pleasure!

Leave a comment